Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2001-12-31 - 2:54 p.m.

2001 End

Though largely this diary is here to get things off my chest, it also is here to remind me of where I was. Before I go back and post links to a few entries that I particularly liked, 2001 was a stressful year for me. Relationship issues aside, the WTC disaster bothered me. It could just as easily been 101 California (Market Street) where my brother works as a target. The sad part is I saw this coming. Americans are very complacent and many of the kids who frequent the goth scene in San Francisco are particularly spoiled. California has IMHO a better standard of living than Texas did. And I think it is a lot nicer here than the Midwest (based on two trips there between Nov. 2000 and May 2001). Gasoline is cheap, rent is actually cheap (even in SF), food, music, clothing, etc. The US is largely a safe place to live, as long as you aren�t poor. And too many of the goth kids out here work half a year and spend their time just being goth.

And that is a shame, because while that is fun and interesting, if you aren�t looking beyond your immediate friends and interests, people will change things without your say. Already the water supply in the Bay Area is being outpaced by population growth. One water district warned me that they are predicting a shortage (i.e. human made drought) in 7 years. They suggested everybody else is in the same situation.

2001 saw an electricity shortage in California, unemployment in the Bay Area skyrocketed, the state capital (across the street) slammed into by a suicide trucker, and the WTC disaster. The US was shaken, but I think California was hit even harder.

The solutions our government has come up with are patches. It is like chewing bubble gum to get rid of bad breath. New power plants are nice, but people waste energy. Unemployment in this case was caused in part because companies weren�t actually producing benefits/profit (information is good, but you still need to show profit). People are outraged at the government, and becoming violent. Finally the US enjoys a nice standard of living because it (I should say we) makes friends with governments that are oppressive.

I still support my government, but I also disagree with it. I think on a larger scale people should talk about these things. Just talk for now.

Music

  • Assemblage 23 :: Failure
  • Chiasm :: Disorder
  • the Dust of Basement :: Come With Me �
  • Frontline Assembly :: Epitaph
  • Haujobb :: Polarity
  • Siechtum :: kreuz:X:feuer
  • Stromkern :: Armageddon
  • Suicide Commando :: Love Breeds Suicide (EP)
  • :Wumpscut: :: Wreath of Barbs

Film

  • Harry Potter
  • Lord of the Rings
  • Planet of the Apes

Diary Entries

SugarDaddy
Gayla�s Baby Bat Kites!
Corporate Whore
Strip Club Newbie
Purple Butt
Corn Witch Project
Ghost on the Loose
Lord of the Rings / Love

That should cover the mopey to JPO in my daily life.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul