Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-01-01 - 11:24 p.m.

NYE Party: 2002

New Years Eve is really a time for adults. I ended up going to Deathguild's party (hoping to avoid obvious drama) and it was so-so. Actually the party at the same space last year kicked ass. This year was poorly planned. But people still managed to have fun with the aid of plenty of alcohol and in the case of some people drugs.

Yeah, there was drama, but thankfully none of it centered around me. Worst I got was a poor dancer kept hitting me. That happens at dance clubs, so it didn't phase me except for the fact that the person stepping on me actually knows me. She was plastered drunk, but no surprises there.

Early in the night I noticed that Racoon (a rivetgirl DJ I met in 2000) was there. She is so incredibly shy, but I managed to not only break the ice and talk with her some, but convince her to get her private DJ collection and spin in my car (yeah the music at the party was pretty lame). Racoon is a noise girl.

SF industrial?

In fact, very few DJs in San Francisco play anything but g/i top 40 material. I understand that you have to play some of that, as it is what is being requested, but the local music snobs have converted me into the belief that the industrial scene is in need of people who understand that most of what is played at clubs is synthpop (including Apoptygma Berzerk and VNV Nation � they are not industrial).

Before anybody reading this gets hurt, please keep in mind that I list VNV Nation as one of my favorite bands. It still is. In fact, they brought me into the industrial scene. But they are best described by Ronin Harris himself as "future pop".

Noise Plug

It bothers me that people will label themselves as rivetheads / industrial, when VNV in the most hard core thing they'll listen to and if you ask them about the uniforms they choose to wear they have no clue. Though I shop at Hot Topic, I wish the store would hand out fliers explaining what the difference between BDUs and cargo pants is.

Being rivet isn't about following rules of a religion, but I wish people would explore more. I hope that they'd consider that noise is music, and maybe not get pissy if a DJ experiments by mixing some power noise or hard core into a set at a dance club.

You'd be surprised, because noise is incredibly forgiving to dance with. Not to, but with. Music should be listened to, but danced with. Big difference.

So Racoon spun an awesome set for me, then we went back into the club. We left following each other to where she thought there was a restaurant. Whoops, it was gone. So she took my number and called me today �

LISTENING TO: PAL Signum

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul