Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-01-02 - 5:15 p.m.

What Did They Put into the Water in 1980?

So Raccoon phoned me up and I gave her offer she couldn�t refuse. �Hey let�s go to Berkeley and visit the used music stores tonight!� Hehehe, it is called DJ entrapment, and it worked. I think she was excited, though it is hard to tell (she is the most rivet person I�ve met, and really doesn�t like to display emotions).

There is nothing better than driving down the freeway while a cute rivet DJ is bouncing through tracks in her CD collection and giving you a history of all forms of �noise�. Raccoon also likes ambient and ethereal music. In fact, her musical tastes are very diverse.

Since school is out for the holidays, parking was easy. We parked, visited one CD store, got impatient rummaging through the electronica and experimental sections, so we headed next door to Rasputin�s Music and there she pulled out a ton of CDs for herself and me. She was finding music that I would never have bought on my own, but based on what she was playing for me NYE I knew I could trust her opinions. In fact, I�ve danced to her sets twice up here � and she keeps the floor packed. Unlike most other DJs, she actually dances to other DJ�s sets too. The girl is all about music.

The Wumpbag

On our way out, I noticed the Wumpbag (a limited edition Wumpscut fan briefcase packed with goodies) sitting on the shelf. The bag looks beautiful so naturally I asked Raccoon to pester the sales kid to get the bag down. He had no clue what the two of us were jumping up and down talking about, but with help he found it. All I have to say is the Wumpscut energy drink is something I must have. Then I plan to open it right in front of some DJ friends, and guzzle it down. (Then I�ll refill it and repeat the prank about a dozen or so times � I just want to see what some of them will do.)

Water Supply

Raccoon pointed me to her livejournal page, where I was surprised to find out that she was only 21 years old! Ah, Crimson just turned 21 on Sunday night. Shells turned 21 in September. And many of the other rivetkids I dance with in San Francisco were also born in 1980. Of these kids, most all of them finished high school years early and moved away from their folks. Each time I was surprised to find out how young they really are.

I�m convinced that something was put in the US water supply in 1980 that makes kids become goth. But Redwood shattered that theory when he pointed out that I dance to high energy music and I can outlast most people our age. He added that generally I share many of the same interests at the younger crowd, so naturally I tend to talk with these people more than older school Goths.

This isn�t totally true, as there are some things / experiences I share with people like Redwood, Alexandra, and Cricket. But I do agree about the energy issue. I do run around at clubs and I am still very interested in being independent. While in graduate school my parents paid my gasoline bill and my auto insurance. I never really felt like I have moved out, and when my funding was in danger of running out, I did in fact move back home. There is something very important about moving out and taking care of yourself. You learn to treat other people better.

I hope to hear from Raccoon again, but I honestly doubt I will. She is nice, but she didn�t make any real effort to talk to me last year. No matter what, she made the New Year worth while for me. She got me excited when I thought nobody else could (but I won�t dare tell her that).

LISTENING TO: Sophya The Age of Sophya

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul