Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2005-06-09 - 3:33 p.m.

Tackle You, I!

I wonder if the old saying, unlucky at cards, lucky at love applies to darts. Last night I took Cloud to the G-Street Pub in Davis. He has been a bit down, so I've been trying to make more time to get him out and into the social world.

We go to the pub, start playing a few games. I suck. I really have no aim and throw the damn things so hard they bounce back out. GRUNT. Perhaps it is the dinosaur in me, that just can't grasp the concept of aim and the light touch. That isn't me.

Mid-way through the evening a hot industrial / punk / indie looking girl walks into the pub. Somehow she initially passed under my radar, and I didn't notice her until she was standing right beside me and asked me about my Fries (I won't call them F. Fries, because the French don't like that, so lets just call them Pommes like any good German will and leave it at that). Somehow we both started talking about our love of beer and finger foods and how we liked this pub better than Sudwerks, though the minute I said, "But Sudwerks actually has better beer ... it is just too damn crowded with ... well, people I'm not crazy about.", she grinned and agreed. She ended up asking my name and wanting to shake hands.

That was when it hit me (bear in mind, this was several minutes into the conversation) ... I wanted to tackle her. I believe some people say pounce, and while that word might work too, my first instinct, no make that my second instinct was, "Damn you are cute and fun. I bet you'd giggle if I were to just tackle you right now!" Yeah, I'm dense. She was flirting with me. Cute! A cute girl in Davis? OMG!

Only being half dumb I gave her my name. Then her date for the night walked up. Damnit! If you've got a date, don't flirt with me. On second thought, that is OK. It does kinda build the confidence.

Now I want to go back to the pub next Wednesday night. What I'm wondering though is if she wanted to tackle me as well? While in Leipzig this year, there were three girls who made it painfully obvious to me that they were in fact interested in me (one of them even went so far as to just flat out ask, though in German).

But damn, thinking back on the Pub Girl, she was cute. And I bet she'd be fun to hang out with. And the best part, my dramadar wasn't going off either. If only I were a bit better at responding to cute girls when they flirt with me. It seems only the most confident women realize that I'm shy and roll with. The others must think I'm insane.

n.p. wumpscut :: MFAST2

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul