Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2005-06-10 - 1:35 p.m.

I feel like a sneak

No major reason, but because I've been dragging in originals (not my copies) of CDs to listen to at work. Nothing wrong with that, but it seems that with the exception of ambient industrial and ethereal stuff, that the artwork on a number of CDs is questionable.

For example, ISC's Holy has pictures of a naked nun. Again, nothing wrong with that. But I like to read the liner notes / lyrics while listening (believe it or not, this is how I write best), but how embarrassing would it be to have a co-worker walk in to the picture of a topless nun who has blood coming from her tit into her cupped hand?

I understand what ISC (Dennis and co) are suggesting here, but will my co-workers? With only two exceptions, I honestly think not. I think most of them will just think I'm strange. One or two might be uncomfortable, but still, I feel like a sneak.


I've also been leaving reviews on amazon.com for some of the books and albums I like. Pretty detailed reviews in fact. I was actually excited when I saw that somebody had left a helpful review note for me. My first vote!

There is a real reason I leave these reviews. It isn't because I want votes. I don't. In fact, wanking like that is why I've avoided livejournal and friendsters. I don't want net or electronic only friends. Paper mountains and rivers suck. So do paper people. They might be real, but they are still two dimensional. And the trend in goth circles in the United States has been to collect electronic friends. Amazon votes can sort of be the same way.

The reason I leave the reviews is when I shop I read the damned things. Helpful ones I leave votes behind to encourage more reviews. They do influence my decisions.

I noticed that some of the music reviews were not very detailed, and even made what I think are only "OK" analogies. I didn't bring up other reviews, but instead decided a longer review, similar to what you read in music magazines, was necessary for a few bands. Ditto for the books.

Saying something "rocked" or something "sucked" doesn't help. Why did it suck or rock??? My reviews do that. They are still 2-D, but 2-D is often better than 1-D.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul