Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-10-06 - 11:03 a.m.

Vice-Presidential Debate

First off, I was hoping Howard Dean would be running. I think that marks me as being more liberal than the Kerry / Edwards ticket. In fact, I felt they both spent too much time attacking Howard Dean, so much so that I�m not really excited about them. Enough so that Cobb is still a viable choice in my mind.

That said, I felt Cheney came across as the better leader last night. Edwards basically just cried about how Cheney was a "liar". While that may very well be true, I don't think crying about it over and over again really demonstrates that you are any better qualified to lead.

For the past two days before the debate, I was attending an environmental conference, called CALFED Science. The first day was kind of a waste. I attended all the sessions on Jones Tract, and quickly realized that some of the people there giving presentations weren't interested in "science". They were more interested in grand standing. Basically I've lost my respect for a few engineers who work for my department.

If there is a reason there is a problem in the state it is because guys like these two session chairs are more interested in their reputation than actually doing work. One of them has actually done work in the past, but it is really sad to see him having caved into what was really nothing more than scaremongering.

It is important for state employees to have opinions, but we have to be very careful about displaying them. Oh well ... I'll busy myself with my work.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul