Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-09-17 - 5:08 p.m.

Me on Jumbo Tron

For some reason I've been going to many baseball games lately. I think it is the post season excitement that increases my interests, but it also happens that I've had more free time lately.

The Sacramento RiverCats (AAA Ball) made it into the playoffs again. Since they play just down the street from my office, I've been walking from work and just picking up tickets minutes before the games start. After the games I just catch a bus back to Davis and call it a night. A late night, but a night just the same.

My lawyer friend took me to a San Francisco Giants game (I should point out that when a lawyer takes you to a game, that means you pay for your tickets and beer, but he brings you back hot dogs and pretzels ... no worries, except he probably makes twice as much as me). We had to buy scalped tickets, but at one point he said, "[Contour], do you realize how many goth points you lose by actually keeping score at a baseball game."

My reply, "And now you have the answer to your next question, 'Why do you keep score at a baseball game?'" Yeah, I'm an SOB.

Actually I've noticed that many people who like gothic music tend to be somewhat reserved. They also tend to keep scrap books and diaries. In my case, my score book (which has tickets from when I was a high school kid) is a diary. Just because I've been remiss here, doesn't mean that I'm still not recording things. I am, just in different places.

Anyway, recording every little event at a baseball game is a kind of diary. And I'm amazed at how much attention I get from doing this as well.

At the last RiverCats game, a guy came up to me and said, "Dude, you were up on the big screen. They just showed you there, sitting and keeping score!" I'm probably easy to spot ... not many people at baseball games wear Wumpscut hats.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul