Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-07-14 - 10:31 p.m.

Heading to Chicago

Original Date: 2004.05.21

I don't know why I don't listen to the in flight movies, because I typically end up watching them even without the sound. Perhaps it is because my visual curiosity gets the better of me.

The 767 I'm flying on is crowded, but there is much more space on this plane than there was on the KLM aircraft I rode on last year.

The most interesting part about flying to Chicago instead of talking a direct flight is that my plane flew over the Delta. Before 9/11 the Department used to keep photos of the State Water Project on-line. After 9/11 most were removed for "safety" / domestic security purposes. Though I can't see the harm in it, I took a couple aerial pictures of the Delta. I doubt I'll be able to use any of these shots for work, but in a few weeks we'll see how they turned out.

I'm also glad I finally got a window seat. I like looking outside even before the flight I enjoyed sitting away from my gate in spot where I could see the planes taking off and landing. While watching the planes, two small kids and their dads came by. One of the kids wanted to be closer to our gate, but the dad kept saying that "this is the best spot in the airport." The kid wasn't buying it until the other father started telling his son the same thing.

As planes approached SFO we could see their landing lights. One of the dads was telling the younger son, "See those lights, they are from a plane that is about to land." The kid couldn't see the lights. His dad would point out the "diggers" i.e. the construction vehicles and say, "See the lights above the diggers?" The kid couldn't see them.

I wasn't the only one that thought this was odd, because the other kid suddenly took an interest in this spot (which didn't care about before, but now that the other dad was talking about planes landing, planes taking off, and diggers and backhoes, he was now interested). I'm just still wondering why the little kid (younger one) couldn't see the landing planes.

Perhaps this is normal. But I was a bit saddened by the fact ... no by my assumption that this kid might not see as well as me.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul