Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-07-13 - 10:32 p.m.

Germany 2004

Original Date: 2004.05.21

I'm at the airport waiting for my flight to Frankfurt via O'Hare. I shouldn't be tired already, but I am. I'm glad that over Thanksgiving that Cricket convinced me to ride the SFO terminal tram. This morning my mom dropped me off at a BART (Bay-Area Rapid Transit) station. Basically I started my trip by riding a train. This is fitting considering how many trains I plan to ride while in Germany.

While I'm looking forward to my trip, I'm afraid too! I'll be staying in three cities totally by myself. I suspect a few people realize that I'm nervous about doing Europe by myself. I can barely understand basic German and I don't know what I'll be doing everyday. It isn't just the language issue, but the control one as well.

But none of this matters, I'm committed to going and now need to just wait for the next hour before my plane heads to Chicago.

I did find it interesting that airport security didn't care that my carry-on satchel is an old USMC charge assembly bag. I wonder if I'm violating US or German regulations, because my bag clearly says: DEMOLITIONS on the outside. I guess it doesn't matter, this bag and I made it through security no hassels.

Two Quick Notes:

- I'm writing this in the same book (pocket sized) that I used last year in Europe.

- My greatgrandfather used to keep a journal of all his travels. I'm thinking that I'll continue to do the same.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul