Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-05-10 - 1:45 p.m.

Difficult to Put into Words

If you've seen Disney's The Black Hole you�ll know how I think I must look like when I say, "My single eye glows red with hatred of human life, and my salad spinner hands thirst for human blood."

I was in the field participating in a USGS study Thursday and Friday. The study was great. It was an even better chance to break out of the office. I was in every respect a short vacation.

And yet, I come to my office finding that this damned baby shower thing I'm being rushed on made zero progress while I was gone. The letter I created to circulate wasn't hand carried. Instead some dork just placed it on my boss's desk.

He was sorry that it got stuck there. And so am I. I didn't schedule the baby shower for this week, his boss did. And without really thinking that I don't have time to get a baby shower gift, let alone schedule my hotels for Europe.

I really need to get back to work, but I was so mad. And after a wonderful weekend. I got some more planning done.

Oh yes, before I forget. If you want postcards and have moved in the past year, I need your addresses. I promise to try and send something from Deutschland. Hey, maybe some rich German girl will meet me and convince me to come and live in her castle where I can spend the rest of my life cleaning the Rhine.

On a happier note, that nation states game ... well I convinced a young kid to submit a resolution and he got nailed by the moderators. It was a terrible misunderstanding and somehow I managed to keep my anger to a minimum and talk the kid out of his warning mark. WooHoo! The warning should have been sent to me and I wouldn't have minded it really. But to warn a kid for trying his best to keep pace with a guy like me? Not fair.

It is back to editing and writing real papers for now.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul