Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-04-09 - 4:26 p.m.

Writers Block

I'm not sure if it is a blessing or a curse that there is plenty of work to do ... so much so that when I get stuck on one project, I can rotate over to another project. Today it seems to be a blessing, as I didn't get anywhere developing flow relationships.

Instead I've started writing one of my two papers for this annual report that I'm the editor for. Though lately I've been a bit annoyed by the fact that I tend to ghost write half of the report, contribute another paper (this year two) as the actual author, and seem to have all my time sucked into the report. That doesn't annoy me as much as the fact that there are several people in my group who just show no interest in contributing to the report.

The report is required by law. It isn't just some scam I've dreamed up. It is a law dating back to the 1970s. While it is my job to edit the thing, it is hard for me to do so much of the creative work in the report as well.

I'll live and get the report finished. In the meantime I'm looking forward to spending the weekend with my family in the Bay Area. I'm sure it will mean working on my brother's home, but I actually like that.

Oh in other news, my rent is going up this year. I'm not happy about that. The problem is that starter / fixer up homes in Davis start at $300,000. These are homes that in the rest of the United States sell for under $100,000.

n.p. suicide commando :: construct destruct

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul