Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-04-06 - 9:24 a.m.

Out of Time, Out of Breath

We are all creatures of habit. Some of us (like me) more than others.

Yesterday was the first day on the new bus schedule (and route). The changes mean I have to leave my office at different times and pick up the bus at different places. So naturally while I was halfway to my new bus stop yesterday I saw the bus pull away � leaving me behind.

SHIT!

Doing what comes natural, I started sprinting through traffic a block parallel to the route the bus was taking. I think I must have jumped in front of 2 mini-vans, 1 pick-up, and one CHP patrol car. I'm pretty sure I may have knocked over 1 woman too.

I managed to catch the bus five blocks later, but I think I'm out of shape. I should be able to sprint faster than a bus. I just should be able to! And it was only 5 short city blocks.

I guess that means I've either got to pick up the pace while out jogging at night or that I've got to increase the distance I cover, because I'm not happy that I only barely made it to the bus. And yes, I really was knocking down people on the sidewalks while racing through traffic. Though it was not my fault. People are like stupid cows. When they are in a group they hog the entire sidewalk. Call me an asshole, but it felt damn good to knock past that woman drinking Starbucks coffee. If she really wanted to drink her coffee she could have taken her smug little nose and looked down the street to see a dude in black jump out in front of a mini-van and heading straight towards her. Not like she wasn't going to be buying another Starbucks in an hour or two anyways.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul