Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-03-26 - 10:41 a.m.

the Church, Part I

Last night I went to the Church show. It was fun. Actually this was my third Church show. The last one was in late March 2002. Or was it early April 2002? I can't remember, though I'm sure I've an old entry. Anyway, I could barely walk while at that show. So much has changed in my life in the past three years, but I can walk, run, and dance again.

So while I was watching the opening act, Sea Ray, Marty Willson-Piper comes along next to me to dance / watch the show as well. He is just so cool. Sea Ray was pretty good too. Though I'm less interested in alternative rock, this six person band including a cellist is so worth seeing.

My favorite songs from last night were the jam sessions which included Tantalized and You Took. Basically modern experimental / jam retakes on old favorites.

The show had more than a few technical flaws, but that is the norm with the Roadhouse (the venue). But seeing Peter and Marty play their guitars rocks! I'll also point out that Marty was extremely supportive of Sea Ray. Marty just comes across as a really great guy. I really would have liked to have talked to him.

n.p. the church :: magician among the spirits

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul