Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-02-10 - 1:23 p.m.

Model United Nations

In high school a bunch of my friends got involved in a Model United Nations my sophomore year. It sounded interesting, so my junior year I joined the school teams as well. I had a blast, and my senior year became the head delegate for one of our school's two countries: Belize.

The irony is that at the beginning of the year I couldn't find Belize on a map. In my world geography class, I got most of the countries in the world, but had no clue what Belize was. It was a great experience. So good that I continued to be active in model UN programs for the first three years of undergraduate work.

Almost two weeks ago, wateryone mentioned a website called nationstates.net. Being curious, I followed her link and I've been hooked ever since. It is a game not at all unlike Model UN, except that the amount of time you want to put into the game is totally up to you. A few minutes a day and upwards.

I made a nation:

http://www.nationstates.net/cgi-bin/index.cgi/target=display_nation/nation=mikitivity

And I've been having a blast ever since. I'm not sure how many people are answering the questions how they'd like the world to be run vs. how many people are just screwing around. It hardly matters. The interesting thing is the dilemma that I'm faced with everyday and how it changes my Civil Rights / Economy / Political Freedoms and UN Classification.

n.p. tarmvred tour :: subsnow 02-02

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul