Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2004-02-09 - 9:30 a.m.

Playing Catch

It is funny how there are certain things that will bring back old memories. Old memories are wonderful, because it often (though not always) seems that I can bring back the good things and discard the bad.

This weekend I stayed at my folks, but spent Saturday and Sunday working on my kid brother's new house. The previous owners were a nightmare. They totally trashed the place when they left and left behind tons of trash. Since my brother and his fianc� wanted to remodel, this isn't a big deal. However, there has been tons of work for the two of them just to get the house ready to move in.

My father, his future father-in-law, and my brother worked inside. I worked outside. Painting (priming actually) parts of the house that are badly in need of paint. I also mowed the lawn and raked leaves.

I want a yard someday. A small house would be fine, but I want a yard big enough to plant a garden and play catch in. By catch I mean baseball. Two people put on gloves and throw a ball back and forth.

Sometimes you move, sometimes you don't. But the entire time you talk.

It feels so good, but then so did mowing the lawn and raking the leaves. It is about being physically active.

The most memorable flash back of the weekend: mowing the grass on my brother's front lawn reminded me of when we used to play touch football on a friend's front yard. His front yard had two tiny hills, which made touch football all the more interesting.

Isn't it funny that I still have this instinct to tackle people or throw small round objects at them? I'll add this, though I'm not looking for a girlfriend, a woman's ability to tackle and be tackled are perhaps two of the highest things on my checklist. This is why punk girls rawk! They are completely girl like, but at the same time, they aren't going to cry if you suddenly pounce, and more likely they'll just get you back someday with more of the same.

n.p. this morn' omina :: le serpent rouge

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul