Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-12-05 - 9:21 a.m.

In Light of All the Crap Going On

I've always been grumpy about the fact that I walk past, on average, three different guys blowing leaves every morning while on my way to work. Why don't they rake the leaves? Why don't they just leave them where they fall?

Well, now I think I understand why people don't like wet leaves on sidewalks. They are slippery.

So while the rest of my friends are having serious problems that I can only stand by and watch, for some reason, fate dished out crap to me in cartoon / comic style. I was zipping along at my normal fast pace this morning and lost my footing on a silly wet leaf. Actually more like a sidewalk completely covered in silly wet leaves.

Crash

OK, I didn't actually fall down. Fortunately for me, I've got near cat-like reflexes (and a dog like disposition, though what breed is a matter for debate). But instead of cursing, I laughed. With all the other people's lives so turned inside out around me, me slipping on a bunch of wet leaves is actually funny.

No, it is poetic. For a few years, I've advocated that the leaf blowers should shut the hell up and just let the leaves fall. I slipped, I caught myself, I walked more carefully.

But then I looked at the leaves. Do you realize how beautiful late autumn really is? There are so many different shades of yellow, orange, and red! I love December.

n.p. love is colder than death :: mental traveler

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul