Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-11-18 - 2:33 p.m.

Enigma? Me???

second entry :: 2003.11.18

Last night on the bus ride home a guy whom I frequently talk to on the bus thought it odd that I was reading a comic book. Huh?

I read comics on the bus from time to time. Yeah, so I look like a big fucking geek when doing so.

  1. I'm not about to date anybody on the bus.
  2. I'm not interested in dating, let alone flirting with any chick that can't appreciate that I might enjoy reading comics.

Then the guy saw the cover: Elektra. OK, she is basically nude on the cover. Has been for years. That is how they get people interested in the comic in the first place. Some of the Elektra books have been great, others so-so.

But suddenly he felt it was OK for me to be reading the comic. It was as if the comic had been a Captain America or Transformers book and it would have been wrong?!?

Well, to each his own, right? But I did get a kick when he said, "[Contour], you are a real enigma you know? One day you'll be having legal discussions with the lawyers on the bus, the next you'll be reading a kids comic, the next you'll be talking about some weird music, the next about baseball, and the next you'll be talking about droughts or floods. You're a smart guy, so why do you read those?"

Fair enough question actually. The answer is simple: I like the stories and characters. Honestly I do. I've always said that there is a 5-year old trapped in me, and I'm positive that others have one as well. The difference is, mine seems to have control of my wallet and isn't afraid to read comics in public.

Another interesting fact, if you put a jar of Red Ropes anywhere in sight, I'm gonna steal and gobble them up. Yummy!!!

n.p. v/a :: the flatline compilation 2

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul