Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-11-05 - 12:53 p.m.

Green Party Shines

I shouldn't say that it is the Green Party that shines, but rather that people who identify themselves as Green Party members impressed me yesterday.

First, San Francisco's Mayoral race is not over. There will be a runoff between the leading Democrat and the second place candidate: Matt Gonzales. Gonzales is a member of the Green Party and also currently has a position on the San Francisco Board of Supervisors. He also happens to be 38-years young.

It would be a major breakthrough for the Green Party to gain control of San Francisco, but I seriously doubt many of my "liberal" (yeah, my ass) goth friends in San Francisco had much to do with this. Some of them, sure. But if I had a buck for every fair weather liberal I met in the goth / industrial scene, I'd be able to own a 3-story house in San Francisco. (OK, maybe more like a nice small 1-story in Chicago, but you get the point.)

Local Elections Count

The precinct I worked in Davis had several co-ops. These are houses where multiple families live together and help each other out. I actually think once you get some idea of personal space, that this really is a good idea. It encourages community thinking, and the people living in these communities are extremely nice and open minded. It helps that they are also progressives.

Anyway, out of the 253 votes cast in the precinct I was working, I'm estimating over 50 of them were cast by Green Party members! That is huge. But I should also point out that the same precinct had over 700 votes a month ago in the Governor's recall election. Turnout was horrible yesterday.

It says a lot that the people who really do care about their community label themselves as Green. And given that yesterday's election was for school board and tax measures, it is no surprise that the Green's showed up in force to help their schools. Democrats and Republicans can't say this. While there are outstanding Democrats and Republicans, I still can't help feel good about the showing of support the Greens gave.

n.p. qntal :: qntal

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul