Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-09-23 - 11:31 a.m.

Denial of Service

Somehow I've been singled out by somebody with nothing important or meaningful to do other than to fill my email account with spam / viruses. There is a new virus out there that claims to be a Microsoft upgrade. Yeah, like Microsoft would ever send a free patch to everybody! Furthermore, like a Microsoft patch would even work. Anyway, somebody who has my email in their inbox was stupid enough to install the virus, and now when they get online, I get a 150 kb email from them every 10 minutes. This isn't a bad thing, except for the fact that I've got a dial-up account and a 10 MB limit. Every 8 hours my home email account gets completely filled.

I spent all of last night installing the latest Norton Anti-Virus software and talking to earthlink's tech support people. I want earthlink to just bounce any email sent to me containing a *.exe file. There is no reason anybody should email me a *.exe file. None. So why not bounce the viruses?

I also wanted them to bounce any and every email with Microsoft in the subject header. I'm not asking them to do this for everybody, but since they have access to my email server and I don't, only they can do this for me.

Instead they wanted me to use their SPAMINATOR. Um, I am now. It sucks ass. My email box is still getting 10 MB worth of crap. Good emails are bouncing. And I still have to read them damn things.

They can get around this, but they are refusing to. I have half a mind to add their tech support to my inbox, infect myself so I email them every 10 minutes, and then we'll see how quickly they fix their system. I hate the fact that in order to cure somebody, you have to infect your doctor. Wasn't there a Star Trek episode like this?

n.p. plastic noise experience :: -196 C

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul