Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-09-22 - 10:08 a.m.

Baseball Curse?

Friday I left work early to meet my brother and father in time for the Oakland A's game. I like baseball. And I like spending time with my family, even if my sister and father ask too many questions and have little idea about who I am and what I like. In fact, they are really very similar. They always tell people what to do. And to an extent I am that way too, even if I'm not happy about it.

The A's lost. But I still had fun. It is the second game where I've tried to keep score. The thing about keeping score during a game (which includes ruling what are singles, doubles, power strikeouts, regular strikeouts, passed balls, stolen basses, errors, runners left on base, ext.) is that you really get a better feel for the rules and how the managers call the game.

Baseball has the longest season of any major professional sport. In the end, it really does come down to being a game about statistics and probabilities, and the math lover in me finds the possibilities of baseball very fascinating.

I'm a fairly big fan of Star Trek, but I never really cared for Deep Space Nine. It was a blatant rip off of Babylon 5. However, I did enjoy the pilot episode, the Emissary. And I felt that what the writers did a great job was tying baseball into a description of human perception of time.

The rest of the weekend I spent with my family. It is good to have a time out, but it also means the rest of my life is put on hold. But it also is good to do yard work every now and then. Too many of the people I know are soft. They don't know how to work on a car, trim a tree, or clean the gutters.

n.p. dead can dance :: toward the within

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul