Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-08-14 - 1:26 p.m.

Hydrogen Bomb

I can't imagine what it would have been like to grow up in the 1950s and 1960s. In many ways, the Cold War scares me more than the conflicts of the 1980s and 1990s (and ones continuing to be waged today).

Maybe information was so wrong that people didn't know to be afraid. But I don't think so. Even as a child, I was convinced that my life wasn't going to end sitting in a bed looking at an old picture of myself, but that I'd go in a flash of light along with every other living thing for hundreds to thousands of miles around me.

How could anybody think that weapons of mass destruction had any value? More pressing, how is it that the human race hasn't destroyed itself yet?

Supposedly Mars is closer to the Earth now than it has been for thousands of years. If people were to come by and ask for volunteers to be part of a Mars colony. One where there were no corporations, no career politicians, and no religious books of any type, I'd be among the first to sign on. There is much I'd miss about Earth, but humanity. No way.

Fortunately I can vote, and my vote means as much as the next persons. Why is this fortunate? Because I'm happy to filibuster and waste my vote on a future where kids won�t even think mushrooms are bad.

n.p. v/a :: we came to dance 2000

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul