Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-08-08 - 10:06 a.m.

Awakening

It is interesting to see how the recall election is unfolding here. For me, it is becoming a political awakening. I've already been working as an election official for several years, and will continue to. However, I'm just coming to terms with how important it is to do more.

My government is out of control. This is a problem created by Republicans and Democrats alike. People who support either party are really responsible for supporting a system of government where people are less important than money. Money is OK, but it should never be an ends to a means.

With this in mind, I attended Yolo County's Green Party meeting last night. It was open to the public, and I was really pleased with how grassroots the Green Party here is. The people were very kind, and even asked for my opinions when we all took the time to share our thoughts on both the recall and choices for governor.

Interesting note: the Green Party is split on the issue of recall, but I had the feeling that each of us in that room agreed with the basic party principles. It is just the means to achieving these goals that we disagreed on. But I do share something with these people.

Technically I'm an independent, but I've been wanting to know more about my local political parties before registering. In Davis, Camejo (the previous Green candidate for Governor) got as high as 30% of the votes in some of the Davis precincts. That is huge!

However, before I take the final step, I should give other political parties a chance too. I need to make a point to attend a Democratic and Republican party meeting before I totally go around claiming that anybody supporting these parties is EVIL or anything. But I have a feeling that once I do, that I'll have firm moral ground for defending my own decisions.

n.p. dioxide :: torschlusspanik

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul