Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-08-06 - 10:37 a.m.

The Silent War

Last night I went TV shopping with Redwood. I think he is gonna buy a high definition widescreen projection TV. While I'm sure it would look great, it isn't something that would fit me. I'm just not a big TV guy. Something about sitting in one place for more than 30-minutes really gets me.

After TV shopping I managed to convince him to take me to TRU (Toys R Us). It is perhaps one of my most favorite stores. There we bought two Harry Potter LEGO sets (on sale) to hide in Bronco and Cloud's house. Bronco and Cloud seem to go on vacation once a month, and I always end up feeding their kitties.

I tease the two of them that I know more of their neighbors, since I spend more time at their house than they do. Nobody blinks now when they see me running around their house when they aren't home. Perhaps they think I live there.

Anyway, not only did we build and hide a few new Harry Potter LEGO sets with their small but growing LEGO collection, but we also played a second prank on them. There is a series of railroad games we play at their house about once a week called Empire Builder. Different countries have different maps (each a slightly different game), but the concept and mechanics is the same for all the games.

About a year ago I was challenging one of Bronco's made up rules (the girl cheats by making screwed up house rules all the time, so naturally I call her on them all the time) and noticed an optional circus rule. Instead of delivering normal loads your train could cart a circus around. How fun! Well at least I thought so.

After much begging, the others agreed to play the circus rules variant, but they all really agreed to just shut me up. Knowing this, I made a point to hum, whistle, and sing the circus big top song every time my circus would score points. It became such a tradition for me to make circus music during these games that Bronco threatened to disallow the circus rules.

My response? I got Redwood to help me replace every game piece in one of the games with circus pieces. So the next time Bronco and Cloud open their game, instead of seeing all the normal pieces, they will see circus tents. (I hid all their old game pieces.) You've got to love scanners and mail order replacement parts.

n.p. wumpscut :: preferential tribe

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul