Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-07-18 - 10:21 a.m.

Compliments and Snubs

First, they say imitation is the best form of flattery. The study I've been working on at work is in the documentation stage. I have three more major sections to work on, and would also like to add a description / map illustrating the output locations. However, as I've been working on my paper a co-worker has constantly (and I do mean this literally in this case) asking me for my paper.

Today I found out that the reason he is interested in my paper is he really likes my writing style and has been copying and pasting my text into his own memo. In this case, it is all O.K., because the people who count already know that much of his report is coming from my writing.

There are so many gifted programmers in our group, and I'm not one. My talent is my ability to "see" how a presentation or paper should look before it is even started. It isn't that I have an eye for details (though I do). It is more that I have a bit of an artistic side that strangely enough comes through via text and words.

I've mentioned before that I subscribe to a San Francisco based goth email list. I post regularly to the list, but rarely get replies to my posts. But when I go to a club or concert (I went down to San Francisco last night to see Voodou, Hate Dept., and Hanzel und Gretyl for a second time in the same week), a few people will not only talk to me, but they'll talk about what I've been writing or ranting about. They'll go so far as to quote my posts from a year ago!

That actually is a pretty amazing compliment. Anyway, last night one girl (I have no real idea who she is), asked me if I'm a professional writer. I'm not. But I would love to be in a heartbeat.

Speaking of writing, I'm now an adult. Not only are women no longer bouncing up to me at clubs and saying how cute I am, but when I order a Coke, the reply is, "So that is a diet Coke, right?" The irony here is, I've actually slimmed down again since being sick over a year ago. Though, my arms and shoulders seem bigger now (I think I'm just starting to look less like a boy and more like a man).

But it is still something of a snub (not a personal one, but something that at the very least registered in my small brain) when a cute girl walks up and talks to the guy next to you. Oh well, it probably saved the girl from having her brain fried when she finally learned that I actually am far from normal.

n.p. hate dept. :: ditch

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul