Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-07-16 - 9:25 a.m.

Hit Upside the Head

Argh. I've complained about work. I'm sure I have. If I haven't, that is much worse, as it means the rants are still stuck in my head but I already believe I've ranted. That would surely mean I'm not as sane as I've always believed, and I know I'm more sane than the rest of the human race.

Anyway, the word of the month is micromanagement. It is a bad word. It is something managers should strive to avoid. Worse, they should recoil in fear when they hear it.

Bottom line, one of my projects keeps getting bumped, because the project manager on another key project keeps changing his mind about what he wants. I've been working non-stop since I got back from Europe, with only one real just stay home and relax day.

But last night I did manage to run to a Sacramento show. Yup! Sometimes bands will stop and play in Sacto. Hate Dept. and Voodou opened for Hanzel und Gretyl. If they are going to come through your city, see them. You�ll love them.

These days too many people think industrial means VNV Nation. I'm sorry, there is good electronic based music, and VNV isn't it. I like VNV, but not enough to really listen to them over and over again. But there are groups that I can listen to forever. But people make a critical mistake and assume that industrial music must be devoid of guitars and other instruments.

So wrong. All three acts are guitar based industrial-rock acts, and honestly put on amazing shows. Well, Voodou had some problems. Their main singer apparently didn�t make it to the sound check, and naturally her vocals weren't being carried on the sound system. Like at all!

Anyway, she got pissed off and stormed off the stage. I think it was a dumb assed thing to do, as the other guys weren't having problems, and frankly they are good. I also loved seeing the bass player pick up and play a clarinet solo for several minutes. See, you can still call yourself industrial and appreciate that guitars and other instruments can be used. The point of industrial music isn't that it is electronic based, but rather that it has a machine influenced post-modern edge.

Quote me on that: "industrial music :: machine influenced music with post-modern imagery".

I know this definition will piss of the old school gear heads, but fuck them. If they would bother to look at the history of human music, they'd realize that industrial music is still brand fucking new.

-=-

n.p. voodou :: the blessing of curses

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul