Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-07-13 - 10:58 p.m.

Best Pickup Line Ever

So many tales from Europe and present to tell, but I want to get this one down here before something else better happens.

So while in Valencia, Spain, our friend JRV took us out nightclubbing. JRV and his friends like ... er for lack of a better word, plain rock-n-roll. JRV has Rolling Stones posters all over his condo (which is a nice place: 4 bedrooms, a living room, kitchen, and 2 bathrooms all for himself). Anyway, the clubs he took us to were your standard discos.

They were packed. Apparently it is very common for people to start dancing and drinking around midnight (not much earlier though) on a Friday night. And they people at some clubs will continue dancing until Sunday! Right, for days straight!

Anyway, JRV knew I liked industrial and electro music, so he tried to steer his group of friends to clubs that would play 80s and techno music. The first club we went to seemed more like a bar, but it was packed and people were dancing everywhere. I eventually found a corner kinda behind the bar and front door that was virtually empty. After a beer or two I figured even if it wasn't stuff I'd normally listen to, that I'd dance just as if it was.

That must have been an interesting site. Anyway, in the first 30-minutes a cute girl came up to dance near me. After dancing for a bit, one of JRV's friends introduced her to me. Since I can't speak Spanish, I wasn't about to introduce myself. It is so terrible feeling trapped that way, because I so wanted to say, "Hi, my name is [contour]."

But she spoke English and we talked for a little bit. Then suddenly JRV and his friends grabbed me and said we were leaving to visit another club. And so I didn't get to talk to the girl anymore, but the next club had a better selection of music and more space.

I was curious to see if the DJ had any 80s stuff, thinking I could request something along the lines of the Cure or Depeche Mode, but after literally shoving for 15-mintes (the place was so packed!) I gave up when I found a girl who was really dancing. She had a techno style, but it was nice to see somebody moving around. Naturally this encouraged me further, and so after being dragged here and there by JRV's friends and sometimes total strangers (NOTE: I really didn't know what was happening, as I was drunk) I vaguely remember lots of girls and guys alike complimenting me on my dancing. Apparently goth boys are uncommon in Valencia, but appreciated.

But before anything could really happen, we were shoved into one of JRV's friends cars and went to yet another club. But at this club, I took no time to just start dancing to the techno / house music. I looked around as girls would elbow their boyfriends pointing at me, and then peak again to see the girls dancing like me and still telling their boyfriends to dance like me too! I was teaching the normal folk how to dance to techno music! Yay!

But I was too focused on dancing to realize that a number of women had taken an interest in me. Apparently one of the girls was brave enough and smart enough to realize who I was there with, so she asked one of JRV's friends to introduce her to me. So the best pick-up line of my life: "Hello, most people mistake me for a fashion model!"

OK, she was honestly very attractive. But truth be told, I don't like typical fashion models (which she wasn't boasting, she could pass for one). I like bouncy fun and crazy goth or punk girls. However, this didn't stop me from talking to her ... for about 5-minutes before Redwood snuck in and started talking to her. I don't like "double" teaming a girl (sorry folks, you aren't going to find me in a threesome any time soon, unless I really know the girl and whomever the third person is). It just seems kinda, I guess overbearing for two guys to basically be hitting on a girl at the same time. And although she was the one hitting on me, I figured I'd like Redwood flirt with her. I went back to dancing techno style.

We left not long after that, but JRV's friends complained, "[Contour], we've been going to these clubs for years, and never had girls talk to us. We take you to three clubs, and girls are asking us about you at all the clubs. Other women are telling their boyfriends to dance like you. What is it?"

The answer is simple: you just have to be yourself. If you walk into a club in California, Spain, the Netherlands, Germany, or anywhere else hunting for a fuck, you aren?t there for yourself. People can smell that, and actually like it when people smile (or in my case growl). *snicker*

Of course, my fantasy is that not only will a girl talk to me at a club (which honestly doesn?t happen that often), but she will also drag me home. Assertive women rock my world.

-=-

n.p. assemblage 23 :: defiance

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul