Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-06-27 - 10:36 a.m.

Original Date: 2003.06.01 :: Amazing Country Side

NOTE: I have 7 postcards needing stamps!

Yesterday we took a train from Bordeaux, France (wine country) to Irun, Spain, which then (drama!) took us to tarraronga where we were supposed to catch a train to Valencia, Spain.

First, having access to hot water in a sink in Bordeaux was heavenly. Shaving blind in the shower is difficult. I either cut myself or miss places. When I'm especially lucky, I do both. OUCH.

As the train from Bordeaux crawled southward, the Spanish influence on the French homes was apparent. Not only did the homes and yards increase in size, but the style looked more like what I'm familiar with in the Southwestern U.S. Yay!

The border between Spain and France is a small river that runs at the foot of the Pyrenees Mountains. Only when you cross the border at Irun can you see / consider Spain a Mountainous country. In fact, I wasn't sure what to expect of Spain, as you rarely see anything other than bullfights and Barcelona. The first class compartment on the Spanish train (we transferred at the border) was incredible. More precisely it was spacious and comfortable.

Our Eurorail pass has meant that we've been able to travel first class most of the time in Europe. While it would be silly to travel 1st class on a short trip, a long trip like the ride from the Atlantic Ocean to the opposite Spanish coast really helps you appreciate space. The Spanish first class train even had movies playing.

Anyway, after literally crawling through the mountains for hours our route brought us to Pamplona (i.e. the running of the bulls city) on a dry and huge plateau. At times I was amazed by the variations in geography, and at other times I was taken back by how much like my home state, California, Spain looked like.

SRJ gave a presentation about Spain the week he left, and it was amazing how accurate he was. Also of interest to me were the hundreds of ruins lying on top of dry looking hills and the hundreds of large modern factories we rode past. Spain is a beautiful country and I'm so glad we took the 10 hour train ride, even if there was some major stress due to our train being 20 minutes late to one of our connections.

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul