Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-05-05 - 10:15 a.m.

I Run Faster At Night

It doesn't make sense. In fact, it is just the opposite. I actually run harder and faster during the day.

I jog for about 25 MB worth of mp3 music every other day. I'd go out every night, but I'm still paranoid about: (1) my nads, and (2) my right knee. Lately both have been mostly happy, but I just don't ever want to feel that first pain again. The second pain only means I can't high kick while dancing.

To be honest, I have no idea how far I jog each night. I'm guessing the distance I cover is about 3 miles, but I could be wrong. Basically I zig-zag up and down the streets in my sub-division.

Usually I jog around dusk. I don't know why, but that is the time of day I'm happiest, and if you do exercise (BTW I don't believe dancing or sex count ... trust me, I play hard core and don't get the same rush I get after putting rubber to pavement) then you know the type of endorphins you get from something as simple as running.

I also like being hot and sweaty. There is just something relaxing about that type of sweat. And it is all the more sweet if you've ever lost the ability to walk or run as I did. A year ago I wouldn't believe that I'd be out there again. Although I'm not nearly as intense as I was before THEN, I feel even better when done.

So why then do I feel like I run faster at night? Yesterday I went out at 5 PM, and though I traveled the same distance in less time, while pounding pavement I felt like I could do more.

The answer is: I could see my shadow. At night you don�t have one. So I focus far ahead on the road. But during the day, I've got a little shadow dancing to my right and left (depending on where I am in relation to the sun) distracting me. I pushed myself harder to catch the bastard, but it still seemed like I was seeing more along the way as well. And naturally if you see more, you assume you are taking longer.

Does this mean I'll jog during the day now? Ha! I still prefer the company of the owls and bats (Davis has many of both traveling around at night) to the company of crows and yuppies (Davis has many of these traveling around at day).

LISTENING TO: H.M.B. Great Industrial Love Affairs

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul