Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-04-24 - 10:40 p.m.

Buying Rose Bushes From Handicapped Robots

You wouldn't think it possible, but Tuesday night I bought my first rose bush. OK, it wasn't for me. Actually the reason Redwood and I bought it, was because some friends of ours lost their child. I'm still pretty upset by it, and it is really hard that they told us, but asked us to not tell others.

Bottom line, I think they'd make some of the best parents in the world. I had no idea that they were expecting, as they were keeping it a secret, but when I was told about the miscarriage not knowing didn't matter. Making them happy again did.

So the rose bush ... I know how much they love plants, and wanted to get them something that would last for a long time. Redwood really is the expert, as he grows his own roses. Oh, his roses are cool, as they usually are dark or intense colors. But when we left the store, instead of buying a human, there is a robotic checkout desk. Pretty cool, huh?

Clown

I have a reputation in my office for being a bit of a clown. Granted I'm a clown that likes dead things. And yet people still like me, sick sense of humour and all.

I just think people like to smile and find reasons to not take themselves too seriously. Anyway, I kicked my pranks into overdrive this week to cheer up my friend. While at a NEPA / CEQA training class, I snuck a post-it note with a smiley face on a chapter and waited to see her reaction. She laughed. Later I replaced her name plate on the table with one that looked identical to hers on the side facing her, and read "Hermione" on the other. Why? Because she has a reputation of being Ms. Hermione Granger. A friendly, helpful, busybody, know-it all. It took her hours to see it, but I know she approved -- she took the name plate home with her!

It sucks to lose a child, but I want both of them to know that I'm here for them. And if that means being a bit more clown like, they'll get that too. And instead they want serious, I think I'm capable of that.

LISTENING TO: Wumpscut Wreath of Barbs

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul