Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-03-20 - 8:41 a.m.

A Capital Without Protests

[NOTE: Originally written 2003-03-19.]

Monday around lunch I noticed two different helicopters flying overhead. If I lean back in my chair, I can see the capital building. My office is just one block south, one block west of the main entrance to the state capital, thus any time there is a flurry of activity outside, I've got a room with a view.

Despite being the capital of the U.S. state with the largest population and the most liberal population, things have been quiet lately. When I saw the helicopters I thought that a war protest may have started. Curious, I walked near the capital on my way to lunch only to find out that the protest was about laying off teachers. [For the record, I think that is a big time mistake. However, the state is in the middle of a major budget short-fall and something has to give. I just wouldn't target schools.]

Tuesday there was another protest. This time I was thinking it would be a war protest. Nope. It was a local transportation union. Bus drivers.

This doesn't mean that there aren't protests going on in California. And this doesn't mean that people in Sacramento support the war. But 30 minutes past the deadline, and things haven't changed here.

When I saw the bomb squad (complete with the black lab sniffing doggie) outside my window this morning I was really dreading this hour. But at the same time, I'm ready for it all to end. **blink**

No. The bomb outside turned out to be a gym bag, complete with running shoes and t-shirt. And not much else has changed in this world capital either.

LISTENING TO: the Retrosic Messa de Requiem

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul