Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-02-24 - 9:13 a.m.

Blind unDate

Actually it wasn't a date at all, but as far as a now annoying woman whom always seems to go to Velocity is concerned it was. Friday night Redwood's kid cousin flew down from Seattle and he drove the three of us to House of Voodoo. Voodoo was totally empty, but I still had a blast with Redwood and his cousin. What is really strange is how similar they are.

I'm nothing like my cousins, and I don't feel really close to them either. My male cousins like my brother more, because they can relate to the athlete in him more than the engineer in me. Big surprise. As much as I hate generalizations, there is some truth to the idea that engineers are not easy people to get along.

Basically for the past month a girl who frequents Velocity has been flirting a lot more than normal with me. She has gone as far as to call my place a few times a week. That all is flattering, but it is the topics of her long assed phone calls that really piss me off: relationships.

Lashes used to do this too. They'd flirt like mad when I'm around in person, call me, ask to spend time, and then talk about how they think relationships should be. They are feeling me out. And that is all OK.

The part that annoys me is when I say, "I like my free time alone. I actually like being alone." Only to have them ignore my feelings and play the passive-aggressive game of, "Oh, but don't you feel better in a relationship?" That crap just gets old way to fast. Hell, it is controlling. Worse yet, can't they see that they aren't interested in my feelings or thoughts, but are just seeking a dick and nothing more?

The bottom line is I'm not at all attracted to women who are constantly looking for men to justify their existence. I am, on the other hand, incredibly curious about women whom know what they want and are equally happy in or out of relationships.

Relationships are fine. In fact, I think they can be incredibly rewarding. But the focus should be on the people in a relationship, not the relationship itself.

LISTENING TO: Monstrum Sepsis Deep Sea Creatures

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul