Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-02-06 - 9:35 p.m.

I'll be wearing socks tonight

Normally I like to sleep in the nude. Who doesn't? Anyway, when it gets really cold (which to a California is still well above freezing), I can't sleep at night. My solution has always been to change my bed sheets to flannel sheets and run the heater at night (see, this is why I need a girlfriend or fuckbuddy ... bed warmth). Anyway, today I heard two rumours.

Number 1

The Governor's office is about to pass a 5% pay cut. That is right, no raise for me, although my rent will continue to rise, and a 5% pay cut to boot. I'll wait and see what really happens, but I might be looking to leaving state service in a year or so if things don't look up.

But I'm also going to watch my spending better too. That means no heat at night, but socks. (Don?t worry, I'll wear pants and a t-shirt too.)

Number 2

My mom and later co-workers told me that there is a petition being formed to recall Gov. Davis. The man is a weasel. I voted Green, but I can't understand why anybody liberal would have voted for him. The project I've been working on for a few years is a pork barrel project. These land owners keep paying him, and the local municipalities are paying me to investigate if Davis's land is any good.

But the real reason I want to see him kicked out of office: he knew about the state's budget shortfall before the election, but delayed making the shortfall public for months just so he could get re-elected. In that time the shortfall went from 20 million to over 30 million! That is right, he cost everybody 10 million extra just so he could get pork from a bunch of land owners.

LISTENING TO: X Marks the Pedwalk Abattoir

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul