Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-01-29 - 11:04 a.m.

Derailment / Claire Voyant

Last night I on my way to San Francisco to the Grendel / Claire Voyant show, I saw my first train derailment. It was relatively minor. Two skeleton lumber cars lifted off one track such that they formed a triangle with the track if viewed from plan view. However, both cars were still upright.

Basically it looked to me as if the brake was locked on one of the cars, but when the engines were switching that they pushed until the locked car and the one next to it lifted off the track and gave way so the rest of the cars could push back.

I'm now curious as to how often this happens.

The Show

If I were a band, I would not want to play in San Francisco. The turn out was miserable, but the bands were good. A local band opened, followed by Grendel (a Dutch angry EBM / power noise act), followed by God Module (EBM), with Claire Voyant closing. I like Claire Voyant, so I�m probably biased when I say they did a great job. While I like Grendel and enjoyed his show as well, he really is nothing more than a guy playing music from a tape and singing cookie monster style. Fun if you dance, but if you wanted to see musicians doing more than singing, then the opener and Claire Voyant were there to provide.

Victoria is the magic behind Claire Voyant, as her vocals are incredible. But at the same time Ben and Chris are great to see live too. There live music is different enough that I'd love for them to make a live album.

The funniest part of the night was after dancing to a set of songs I walked up to a woman I know and told her, "Ed just rocks! He played that entire last set just for me. Mixed it all right there!" She looked at me like I had grown a fifth eye or something, when the DJ walked up and said, "[Contour], you know I played those last several songs just for you!" *rawr* The look on her face was priceless. Bwahahaha!

I get DJs playing my music, not because I sleep with them or give them head. But because I kick ass on a dancefloor and *gasp* talk to them about the stuff they love: music! Imagine that.

LISTENING TO: Grendel Inhumane Amusement

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul