Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-01-28 - 9:24 a.m.

Your Favorite Song

Not your favorite artist, but your favorite song.

Friday night I wasn't planning on dancing, but after Redwood told me he got his engineering license, I figured he'd want company to celebrate. So I ended up going to Velocity with him (driving him so he could drink). I'm glad I went. Unlike last week, when it was dead and devoid of cute girls, it was lively.

The music was OK. But I can't ever really expect to go to a club with cute girls and loads of power noise. Er, at least in the United States. American goth kids frequently fall into the Metropolis trap.

The Metropolis Trap

Metropolis is a great distributor. I love to buy stuff from them. And they seem like a nice enough label. But the bands they tend to sign are popular non-offensive dance friendly bands. Few of my favorite 2002 albums were on their label. The problem is that loads of industrial music is incredibly offensive or not very dance friendly. Add to this problem that many mostly goth clubs like to label their formats as industrial, and you end up finding that Metropolis bands command a lot of play time.

Just getting ant-zen or Trisol artists on a playlist can be a challenge.

So, while taking a break from dancing, I wandered outside to cool off and ended up talking to the other guy who always drives a black mustang. The world is pretty freaky, as it turns out that this guy also went to Texas A&M University where he studied meteorology for a year, before switching to computer science. Though my TAMU undergrad degree didn't have time to also take any meteorology classes, my senior thesis was on ENSO (and meteorology topic). And of course in grad school I ended up taking several atmospheric sciences classes.

Anyway, we talked about music among other things. At one point he asked me what my favorite band was. Just one? You want just one?!??!!

I couldn't find an easy answer, so I threw out Scott Sturgis. It isn't that I find most of his music danceable. I don't. But I was honestly thinking that I'd get several bands in one by pegged Sturgis. =)

A better answer would have been Wumpscut. I wear :W: gear all the time. I usually find :W: remixes or songs to burn onto CDs or my exercise mp3s.

All this begs the question: "What is your favorite song?" Sure the answer probably changes weekly for most of us, but Default is a song I've not grown tired of yet.

What is your favorite song?

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul