Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-01-27 - 9:44 a.m.

Gambling Pays

In High School and Jr. High, it used to be said that I was pretty lucky. Well, at least in gambling and odd things like that. I've always believed on some level that there really are people whom are lucky, and others whom are magnets for incredibly bad luck.

Fortunately for me, if it doesn't involve fire, then I'm doing good.

I got second place in the office Super Bowl pool. OK, it was only $8. But it was only $8, because most engineers are kinda cowards. Oh, I'm sorry. The engineering term is "risk adverse", but that is just a bullshit word for "coward".

Hmmm, OK, so I'm not the type of engineer whose bridge you'd probably want to walk across. But I do firmly believe that in order to be a good engineer you have to be creative and think outside of the box. (This doesn't mean being unsafe, it just means that actually assuming reasonable levels of risk is so worth it.)

Spending $2 for weeks of trash talking was instantly a safe bet. I just didn�t realize that all of my picks (save one) were actually going to win.

Needless to say I've also bought a lottery ticket for the first time in my life. Again, not because I really am expecting to win. And I'm not even playing with my mind how much money I'll really win. I bought the ticket because I needed to give my brother's girlfriend $36, and handing her two twenties and saying, "Just get me a lottery ticket too," was much easier than trying to find change.

So long as I avoid Oakland (where some minor riots broke out after the loss last night), I might live long enough to blow my winnings on paper crack. Mmmmm ... paper crack.

LISTENING TO: Frontline Assembly Hard Wired

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul