Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-01-17 - 2:32 p.m.

Presentation Woes

Last night was the last day of the conference, and I was slated to give the last presentation of the conference. I was hoping that this would mean that most people would leave before my presentation and that I'd basically be seated before a projector making shadow puppets and telling jokes to myself.

I was wrong.

The room was packed. Standing room only. I'm guessing that there were around 90 people there to hear me speak on a controversial topic. Now remember that yesterday I wrote about how cut throat these people could be. They like to credit every discovery made to themselves, so naturally it follows that they spend the rest of their lives finding fault with anybody else's discoveries. (It is simple math, net discoveries are what matters. If you discredit your enemy, even a few discoveries are more than nothing.)

While I didn't choke, I ended up going 6 minutes over time. *sniff* I hate it when a good presentation goes overtime, and mine did as well. Worse yet, the show boats from the USGS that I complained about ... well, they always go over time as well. It shows that your are unprepared.

It just didn't feel right.

My friends (many of whom where there) all told me that my presentation was great, but it honestly felt flat to me. It is sad, but the best presentation I've given to date was the one when my balls were in incredible pain. I nearly passed out because of the combination of pain and drugs, but I did my job.

I should go out dancing tonight. Hell, I might even talk to ... *gasp* a girl! But I really want to just light a fire and read tonight. Should I dance or should I relax?

LISTENING TO: The Two Towers Soundtrack

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul