Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-01-16 - 12:00 a.m.

Science Fair for Adults

For the past two days I had to stand next to a poster I made each evening as part of a conference I was attending. I volunteered to do this. Basically scientific conferences are nothing more than bragging rights sessions, complete with a science fair for adults (i.e. the poster session).

I actually like the posters and poster presenters much more than I like the people who give the presentations. One group in particular is full of a bunch of dick heads: the USGS (United States Geological Survey). Every year these people put on the same presentations and come up with conclusions that are often useless or common knowledge. Most of the state and other Federal scientists are just too polite to point it out to them.

To quote on NOAA biologist, "Great! They discovered a hole in the river ... a hole that has been on every fishing map for the past 30 years! But to hear them talk about it, it is as if the hole was unknown to the entire human race and the GS found it! I hate those guys and want to wring their necks at times."

I told this guy how refreshing it was to hear that I wasn't the only one tired of their bullshit. I have no idea what the GS people think of me. Frankly I don't care. I'm an engineer, and I know for a fact that the people who pay me like my work.

There are a few nice people at the GS, but unfortunately they have little control over the GS Hams. The worst part is that the GS Hams get in the way of the rest of us that would like to actually do real work. (I also kinda hate one GS guy, 'cause even after I corrected him about the spelling and gender of redwood ? he volunteered to do field work for them some time ago - the guy never has corrected either. He still mispronounces and misspells redwood's real name and mixes up the gender. It makes this GS guy look like an ass for not giving a shit about the engineers who do his actual work.)

LISTENING TO: The Fellowship of the Ring Soundtrack

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul