Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-01-05 - 3:20 p.m.

High Speed Chase

On my way home from Sacramento's Velocity I noticed a group of emergency vehicles coming my way. Having recently finished a defensive drivers course (which was pretty good actually), I decided to pull over to the side and totally stop the car, even though the lights were coming from the other side of a divided avenue at 2 AM. There was almost no traffic.

A fast moving car was being followed by about 6 police cars. The first police car was literally on the tail of the speeder, but the other cops were keeping a safe distance from the group. It was as if they were there to deal with any accidents that the speeder might cause.

This was the first time I've ever seen a high speed chase, and it wasn't nearly as dramatic as I've always believed them to be. Not nearly as reckless either.

The Damn C-Work

For the past year, my preferred club gear as been: Corcoran Jump Boots, Urban Camo BDUs, 3-row gromit belt, and a Wumpscut, Hocico, or In Strict Confidence t-shirt. Add one USN pea coat or EMT jacket to the mix. What is strange is that I've gotten complements from women of all ages (junior high girls to grandmothers). Actually it is flattering.

But why do the comments from women of all walks of life typically come in the form of, "Oh, you look so cute in that!" or "Sweetie, that looks so cute!" Why have I not heard, "Ooooooh, that is EVIL!" or "Damn you look mean!" or a simple "Nice!" The complements always come in the form of the c-word, but I'm really trying to look like a tough guy.

This confounds me. I'm wearing military issue boots that are polished (not beat to hell and back like most Goths wear), military issue urban combat trousers (again something designed to cause trouble in), and t-shirts that usually have a skull and clearly are associated with death related things. Now add to this, that I'm actually in pretty good shape, so my clothes aren't really baggy and I almost always have either my USN pea coat or my EMT jacket.

I guess I just don't look threatening. But if I'm so "c-word", why isn't it that goth girls aren't dragging me home? Hell, why is it that few of them even talk to me?

And don't tell me to talk to them! Though I find many of them interesting, actually talking to girls scares the shit out of me! (Hey, maybe that is why I'm not so threatening ... women scare me.)

LISTENING TO: Frozen Autumn Emotional Screening Device

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul