Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2003-01-02 - 8:51 a.m.

When it comes San Francisco is going FIRST

Although I completely poo-poo all the folks that rarely visit clubs, but show up on Halloween to party by calling them fair weather club goers, that is exactly the type of person I become for New Year's Eve. My NYE was spent at a goth dive bar in San Francisco: Jezebel's Joint.

I've avoided going to the club for several reasons. First, my ex told me (when we were still marginally dating and talking) that a half sized me couldn't dance there. Second, my ex used the space as her make-out / dating ground, and that bugged me for a long time. Third, I was afraid to park there. Finally, I hate that part of San Francisco. It just seems to attract real trash and snobs at the same time.

But I realized that NYE isn't really a night to dance, my ex has her own life now and I have mine, so seeing her there wouldn't have bothered me, and finally I was told where some free parking was. With no more excuses I gave Jezebel's a try.

I had fun, but not because the dance space was good (it wasn't) or because the music was good (it was just sorta there most of the night ... though one DJ was spinning some old school Suicide Commando). But with low expectations I took what I got and was happy for that.

The Drive Home

The only reason I think San Francisco is going DESTROY itself soon, is because NYE it was a fucking mess. I tried driving to the freeways on Van Ness Avenue. Mistake, the street was a parking lot. All of the police cars, fire trucks, and ambulances were forced to drive against on-coming traffic to make any progress down the street. It was that bad.

I got tired of waiting through cycles of the street lights to make no progress, so first chance I got, I figured I'd wrap around the city and hit the Bay Bridge from its east most entrance. Good plan, if the other streets were open. One street I had to go around because some fucking drunk driver slammed into several parked cars, pushing one vehicle into a light pole which came down and ripped through the front of a building! Another street had a suicide jumper (complete with on looking crowd of over 100 drunks). And another street had broken out into a brawl.

See why I didn't want to go to Jezebel's? The Tenderloin is the worst part of San Francisco. Hell, I even had some mundane drunk blonde chick rubbing against me when I was trying to walk back to my car. Yuck!

The city is gonna burn one day, and it will be by its own hand.

LISTENING TO: Love Is Colder Than Death Oxeia

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul