Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-12-21 - 10:33 p.m.

Persephone and Me

I wish that I was neither allergic to cats nor living so far away from my family that I couldn't count on them to cat sit whenever I was out. But I'm actually grateful for the times when Persephone stays with me. Sure, I grumble a lot. But only this black cat actually gets to hear me talk to her.

Now I don't spoil her the way Redwood does (she is his cat). But she is a sweet kitty, just a bit too high energy for me.

But she seems to adapt pretty well to me reading comics and watching TV. Since I'm still having cough spazisms, I couldn't go out or visit my family this weekend. I wanted nothing more than to dance and then spend a day playing with trains at my folks' place. There is something relaxing about toy trains. They have both an oily and electrical smell that I like, and to see them run around stirs my imagination.

As a child I would always pretend I was a little person riding the toy trains. It was nearly always night, because that was just when I felt trains should run. It also helps that the trains always came out right after my birthday and where as much a part of my Christmas season as bubble lights, blinker light bulbs (my mom's bane), and stockings. I could care less about holiday music and presents. Oh, both are nice, but Christmas is about bubbling blinking lights and whistling hooting trains!

Anyway, being sick and having to spend an evening with Persephone actually is comforting. My throat is so sore it still hurts to talk, so I point at things and she nods as if she understands me. And then there at times I ignore her to read one of my Christmas gifts or watch TV. (I'm reading a Doctor Doom Trade Paper Back comic. Its damn good.)

Dillinger. I'm surprised that nobody has recommended this film to me before. I love gangster films. I love American history. I especially love early twentieth century American history.

I know that there were some liberties taken with the film, but still it is something I'd like to see again and then read a bit more on. There certainly are a few ghost stories waiting to be uncovered here.

LISTENING TO: Thanacid Morphine Soda

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul