Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-12-20 - 9:21 a.m.

Ginger Ale

It must only rain in California about a dozen times in a year. At the same time, it seems every day that I need to take the 4:20 PM express bus from Sacto to Davis that it is late. So late, that the 4:45 PM express bus passes the early bus. Why is it late? Certainly the rain is a connection, but why would the first bus be late and the second one on time? I think the bus drivers are just slacking ... the bastards!

Fortunately Kaiser's night clinic is opened until 7 PM (I thought it was 6 PM, and naturally was worried I wouldn't make it in time). When I got to Kaiser I ran to Medicine 1. The sign on the door read, "Go to Medicine 2." OK, no biggie. I ran to Medicine 2 where the sign on the door read, "Go to Medicine 1." Fuck!

I've seen this before at Kaiser. When I was there before I was in extreme pain (yeah there), so I could barely walk and didn't want to argue. Last night my throat hurt, but nothing compares to testicular torsion. I wasn't just gonna walk back and forth between Medicine 1 and Medicine 2 until somebody bothered to do something. Instead I went to Peds.

"Aren't you a little old for Peds?"
"Sure, but Medicine 1 and Medicine 2 are both closed."
"No they aren't."
"Yes, they are. I just came back from both of them."
"That can't be. Go back to them."
"Trust me, they are both closed, but I'm here just to get a throat culture. I had called in this morning."
"Oh, you can do that here, please sit down."

Why is it that Kaiser has receptionists that would make Hilter look like a Saint? Why do they think somebody would make up something just to go to a Peds unit? Oh well, once inside, I met with a friendly nurse who took my throat culture and told me that in addition to drinking extra amounts of liquids (no diary products), that I should use a vaporator. As a kid I hated it, because it was cold and wet. But I bought one last night, and didn't have any problems last night. Well, except for horrible nightmares.

No diary products ... so I brought a 2L bottle of Ginger Ale from home to nurse down here at work.

LISTENING TO: Pulcher Femina Shadows of the Lovers

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul