Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-12-06 - 8:56 a.m.

They Think, Therefore I Am

Cashier at Fry's Electronics: Have you seen the Fifth Element?
Me:Yes, yes. I know ... Gary Oldman. Er, thanks.

Strange Girl in Black at the Comic Store: Hey, I know you!
Me:Ah, no you don�t.
Strange Girl in Black at the Comic Store: Sure, you LARP.
Me: Ah ... no, I don't.
Strange Girl in Black at the Comic Store: Ah, but you look just like ...
Redwood: All LARPers look like him.

Actually, I'm glad that Redwood intervened. He effectively took anything the girl could say right out of her mouth with that, and also removed me from the conversation, which I think was really the chick just hitting on me. I've nothing against LARPers. Dated one once. And I'm flattered when goth girls start flirting with me, but if a girl wants to really get my attention, there are some many better ways to do it than "I know you" when she really doesn't.

Ways to Flirt With Me

"You are sooooo [insert c-word]!"
"Your makeup is all messed up! Silly Boi!"
"I'm gonna kick your ass."
"I love it when you stomp and bounce."
"My name is [insert a name that doesn't begin with Lady or come from an Anne Rice novel], what is yours."
"Nice boots, wanna fuck?"

There are tons of other ways. Anyway, yes I've got goth boy haircut 2b. There is a kid who looks like me in every American city, and I easily blend in with the European crowds too. But I like it when people recognize me as also being a bit more unique, and not just a young clone of Oldman. I can dance. Most kids can't. Ultimately I'm still stuck as being whatever they think I am ... so young Oldman the LARPer I will probably remain. ::sigh::

LISTENING TO: Wumpscut Blood Child

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul