Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-12-04 - 9:06 a.m.

Stomp, Jump, and Fly

With good g/i clubs no longer running every night in San Francisco it isn't every year that your birthday falls on a club night. Though Death Guild is request and synthpop heavy, it has always been a fun club full of interesting people. I went believing that my ex would probably be there.

She wasn't. One of my favorite DJs was also there, and not only played my Infact request when his set first started, but he also beat matched it into something equal as angsty and then beat matched that track into PAL's Gelobnis (which is a song I told him I loved way back in Feb.)!

I'm Getting Too Old For This

His set killed me. OK, it doesn't help that I was drinking tonic and vodka right before his set, but two years ago I could stomp, jump, and fly for an easy 30-minutes to the most hardcore stuff any DJ in the United States could toss at the floor. I know I'm bragging, but I actually have always thought of myself as a talented dancer.

It isn't that I'm athletic. It is because I can anticipate most of the industrial dance music (including some of the real experimental or noise stuff) and I'm dynamic enough that I'll change with the music.

But I was winded. I didn't make it through but half of Gelobnis! **sniff sniff**

Girl Attention

On my way out, a cute rivet girl called me over and said, "Don't take this wrong, because I think you're cool and I love the way you dance, but why don�t your feet ever touch the ground??!!?? The only other person I've seen who can remotely fly as well as you do on a dance floor is me."

OK, she obviously was confident in her own dancing, and I've seen her dance. She is pretty good. She didn't make me melt, but only one or two people can do that to me a night. But it was nice to realize that total strangers are comfortable enough with me to tell that they appreciate my dancing.

But it wasn't til yesterday that Redwood pointed out that the girl also told me where she lived. Doh! Apparently I'm getting pretty dense too. At least I know that I can dance better than people 10-years younger than me. Kinda sad too. Why is it that these young kids are getting to be so lazy?

LISTENING TO: Love Is Colder Than Death Oxeia

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul