Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-08-24 - 10:51 a.m.

The Rage

The dance floor was packed most of the night at Velocity. In fact there were so many new faces, that I was telling everybody that somebody must have fliered a mainstream frat boy club in Sacto called the Rage claiming that goth chicks like to get naked or something. OK, actually most of the newbies were women.

It made for a different experience to sit and watch both your club be overrun with tons of people dressed in blue jeans and backless shirts and tennis shoes.

That said, these folks did pay to get in. Were buying drinks. Were putting down 80s and 90s alternative requests. And dancing, without freaking each other or couple dancing. It is true that their dancing style was different, but I honestly found it fun to watch a room full of people all dancing extremely different from the norm. I also think they all had a good time.

What really shocked me was when DJ VSX started playing a power nOise set, and the people on the floor were largely these folks from the other club (and me and a few of the others that like that kind of music). Hell, some of these newbies actually seemed right at place with their moves and such to P.A.L.

All that said, newbies at a club is not a bad thing. But I do wish that the new folks from last night would dress in darker clothing. Why? For the simple reason that I find it attractive. I wouldn't dare say anything to anybody, but the thought is still there.

LISTENING TO: the Retrosic Messa da Requiem

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul