Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-08-21 - 10:15 a.m.

For the Young at Heart

Though last night was a work night, and I have about a billion other things to do, I convinced Redwood to go to a small concert in Oakland. We also stopped by Rasputin�s Music on the way, where I found three used CDs by Hocico, X Marks the Pedwalk, and Covenant. Redwood walked away with an early Suicide Commando album. One that I�ve never seen before. The bastard! (Redwood, the album still sucks � I think you should take it back or just throw it away � um, like in my trash can. Honestly! You can�t even hear the lyrics, and when you do they are things like �Die Die Die Suck Suck�. Really, no self respecting punk rivet monster should own that album.) *snicker*

So about last night. Less than 30 people showed up. What can I say, most Bay Area �rivetheads� aren�t interested in supporting local artists, but bring in VNV Nation (whom many of them bitch about), and they�ll be popping out of the woodwork. NOTE: I�m not a VNV hating Nana, but I wish more people would show up at good shows.

That said, the people that were there included some of my favorite Bay Area people. Minus of course my ex and the DJ she came to visit last night. Yup, everywhere I go, the girl is there. It annoyed me some, but it wasn�t too bad. She and her boyfriend ended up going to his room (he lives in this warehouse with a few other guys), and once there they kept to themselves. The odd thing is I had heard this DJ had practically dumped her for some other woman, but it appears that isn�t very true.

It is cruel, but I honestly was hoping that he had dumped her. Why? It is mean, but I really want somebody she cares about to loose interest in her and basically shove her away, the way she did to me. It isn�t that I want her to experience pain or distress, but I would like her to experience what she put me through. Sorry, this is just the way I honestly feel about it.

So Why the Low Turn Out?

I suspect that the music / club scene is aging in the Bay Area. People are coupling off, and are more inclined to stay at home and watch TV and crash early so they can get to work without getting a lecture (like the one I just had for not putting money into my retirement program). But it honestly could be so many reasons, and it just isn�t my place to say why people didn�t show up.

This didn�t stop me from having a fun time. Even though I need to run more and dance at home more. I got winded after pounding floor to just a couple of electro tracks (no idea what they were, other than the fact that it is amazing to go to a club and not hear over played club hits).

Apparently, driving down on a work night to a small show is something really reserved for the young at heart. *rawr*

LISTENING TO: Hocico Odio Bajo el Alma

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul