Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-08-20 - 4:56 p.m.

Indianapolis, Day 2

After visiting the Irish pub the night before and waking up at 4 AM CA time, we missed breakfast both in the motel and McDonald�s across the street. No big loss, we opted for fast food while knocking around. Months ago when my brother bought his plane tickets the plane was for my grandmother to be down Thursday night and we�d all celebrate her birthday. However, she hates leaving the comfort of her own home, so she and the rest of my family didn�t come down until Friday afternoon. This left my brother, his girlfriend, and me on our own. I wanted to visit at least one train shop, drive around some, and maybe visit a comic shop. Of course I didn�t tell my brother�s girlfriend that I wanted to do all this.

Dishonest? Yes. But I�ve found that some people hate doing things, and would rather sit around in a hotel room watching TV all day. I hate TV. But I did warn her that we�d be away for hours. Hmmm, looking back I should have probably made two trips.

Anyway, we found a train store in Indy that we�ve ordered stuff from online before. It was pretty nice, having lots of Lionel O-gauge stuff. This was when I found out that Indiana has half the sales tax of California! Woot!

The mistake was in pushing my brother�s girlfriend and taking her to a comic store before dropping her (and my brother) off at the hotel. I just don�t understand wanting to stay at a hotel the entire time. I did offer to take her shopping, to a movie, or anything she wanted. She was polite, but I could tell she just wanted to watch TV. I simply have a hard time understanding that.

By the time we got back to the hotel, my dad was there, and teased us for not taking him to a train store. My solution: offer to take him to a different one. Indianapolis is a small city and easy to drive around in. Even though I�ve never been there before, with a map and a street address I could pretty much find everything we needed.

Rehearsal Dinner

Later that night I drove to my other cousin�s house, where he was hosting the rehearsal dinner for his sister. Nice house. I finally got to talk to his wife, whom I never really knew before. Another cousin�s kids were running around, and at one point attacked my cousin while fooling around. They are kinda bratty. No, they are at times way bratty, so my cousin just poured his beer on the kid�s head. Oooooh, was the kid and his little sister mad.

To be continued �

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul