Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-08-19 - 11:20 a.m.

Indianapolis

I�m aware that ragging on a city and people from the mid-west is elitist and will offend people (as this is a public diary, and who knows who is gonna read this). However, the point really is just to express my experiences, not other people�s �

The Trip Out There

I drove to my brother�s apartment Wednesday night where I met his girlfriend�s very pregnant sister and her boyfriend. They seemed nice, but they really need to learn that when people are trying to pack and get to bed early for a 6 AM flight (i.e. a 4 AM wake up call) that it generally is a good idea to leave before midnight.

We flew Southworst airlines, but even with a layover in LA (which meant flying south before heading east) the flights were smooth and fast. I read comic books while my kid brother quizzed me on who my favorite Marvel superheros are.

Spiderman
Hawkeye
Captain America
Jean Grey

Airport & Rental Car

Not much to say about the airport, but it was nice. Empty. I like empty airports. But that shouldn�t be a surprise, because I also like empty streets, empty buses, empty clubs, empty dancefloors, empty offices, etc. My kid sister and cousin (who�s wedding was the reason I was there) met up with us and we drove to our hotel (only minutes away from the hotel, which in Indy apparently is about 1/8 of the distance of the city � the city is tiny compared to Sacramento).

The rental car was nice too, but the next time I go somewhere, I�m renting a Mustang GT. I don�t care if it costs more, and I don�t care if it is too small to cart around other people. My sister actually was a dick head (yes girls can be dick heads) a few times while we were there, and acted like I was there to shuttle her around. So my solution is to get a smaller car and drag along power nOise CDs which I�ll say, �The guy who is paying for the car, chooses the music.�

Drinking

That first night my brother, his girlfriend, my sister, and myself met two of my cousin and the bride (another cousin) and groom and their friends and went drinking in an expensive Irish pub. It was OK, but it just is hard for me to relate to non-techie people who aren�t at all remotely interested in g/i music. One girl was remotely interested, but it struck me that she was more curious about drug use in the goth scene. Apparently she (and many others) believe Goths are all about drug use.

To be continued �

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul