Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-08-06 - 10:06 a.m.

Transplanting Cats

My 83-yr old (and very conservative) grandmother is visiting my folks. She had an accident early March that resulted in hospitalization and while at the hospital got an infection that very nearly killed her. Since many of her friends have passed away (including my grandfather) she was ready to accept death. I can understand the pain due to being lonely and physical discomfort. But she got better and is out here, so I drove to my folk�s this weekend to spend time with her.

I only bit my tongue about thirty times. Some of the things she says just bother me. She is racist (though that subject did not come up) and sexist (that one did). She also thinks people are like half beings and incomplete unless they are married. That is a bunch of CRAP. Total crap.

Too many people, even those of my generation, have this feeling that they aren�t whole unless they are in a relationship, and in doing so, they spend more time worrying about stupid things like relationships instead of actually doing things both alone and with their friends.

How I Got the Cats

My grandmother is also very allergic to cats, and my folk�s cats are hyper. BIG TIME. So my mom wanted me to take their two Siamese cats up to my place for the next three weeks. OK, I like animals, but I like other people�s animals better than my own. Hell, girls who have dogs somehow become really cute to me. Why? �cause I get a free dog without having to worry about taking him/her to the vet. (OK, hate me later, �cause I�ve only dated one girl with a dog � though her puppy was way cool and I loved it when my ex would let me take her dog for a walk.)

The cats handled the 1 hour drive up to my apartment fine, but afterwards the older one, named Texas (don�t complain to me, my sister and brother aren�t very creative when it comes to names), was and still is in shock. She used to be the sweetest cat I�ve ever met: 100% pure lap cat. And while she will purr when I pet her, she spent all Sunday night hissing and growling at Howie (OK, I named him). Howie was and kinda still is her kitten. He is way beyond being a kitten biologically, but he is the ultimate puppy-cat. He has tons of energy, is very playful, and frankly kinda dumb in that ever cute puppy way. Yeah, he�d walk through poo if I didn�t clean it up. But his charm is there is no mean bone in his body, though I think he is probably 75% lazy (which makes him Goth As Fuck -- GAF). Anyway, Texas continues to growl at poor Howie and it is stressing me out. Big time.

LISTENING TO: cut.rate.box Dataseed

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul