Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-07-11 - 5:28 p.m.

Where is my Slow Down Time?

This is a sign that I�m getting better, because I just haven�t had a break in days. Friday I went with Newwave to the Meg Lee Chin concert in San Francisco, she rocks. Saturday I helped Cloud design his basic layout for his N-scale train set. Sunday was mostly mine, but in the late evening Redwood came over to pick up Persephone. Monday � what was Monday again? Tuesday I saw a second urologist down in the Bay Area. I made sure that this doctor had nothing to do with Kaiser, and just paid out of pocket. Wednesday was game night at Cloud and Bronco�s. Tonight becomes laundry night. Bronco just tempted me with a dinner and movie invite (and I love hanging at their house � they have a huge hammock and a big fat "dog" cat. Dog-cats might not be bright, but that typically means they don�t understand the word "mean".

Second Opinion

So Tuesday�s appointment was scheduled two months ago when I was in much more pain. The purpose was to get a second opinion on what Kaiser�s proposed treatment for my pain and see if the 6 to 18 month recovery time was accurate.

First, this doctor didn�t try to impress me with his qualifications. That goes a long way. I don�t care if somebody is the Queen of England, as you can tell based on a professional�s questions what he/she knows. Intelligent questions typically come from an intelligent person. Second, the urologist listened to my story without interrupting me (the Kaiser doctor was no where close to this � he rushed me through). Third, while basically feeling me up, he stopped on the part of my testicle where the pain has been coming from and said, "Is this the center of the pain?" He was gentle about the entire procedure, but hit it dead center. It wasn�t painful (after all I can shave my own balls and have been), but he added, "I can feel the remnants right here."

So this is what he said. I never actually had (in his medical opinion) an infection. Instead, part of my epididimis twisted on its own. Basically I experienced something very similar to testicular torsion, but it was of my sperm duct. He said the experience is incredibly painful and also very rare. To make matters worse, most of the cases he is familiar with are from 8-year old males.

Right, apparently my sperm duct decided it was 8-years old. The difference is, it fucking hurt like a bitch. Big time.

He said that recovery takes time, weeks to months, and he thought I was on the tail end of that. Which means the original 6 � 18 months is probably right. He added that it is so rare that he is not surprised that Kaiser thought it was an infection, but he did agree with their treatment proposal: go out and dance.

I did ask if it is possible that I could strain myself or twist my sperm ducts again. No, not possible. Apparently I had nothing to do with this, it just happened. Sucks, huh. But this explains why the pain was just so bad. I honestly wanted to die, but survived. He did suggest that I take aleve instead of motrin, which is funny � Cricket had the same advice months ago.

But since I can�t do this again by dancing � watch out world, I�m back!

LISTENING TO: X Marks the Pedwalk Meshwork

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul