Current Entry
Past Entries
Email Contour
Profile
Diaryland
Who?
Vocabulary



A Ghost In My Past.
Image by Phil Foglio.
Afraid?  I sure am!
Corcoran Jump Boot.

Mapping the Soul of a Spirit That Won't Quit

2002-06-20 - 7:08 p.m.

The Smell of Rubber

Last week while shopping for Father's Day, I went with Redwood to pick up his car from the Firestone (I think it was Firestone) shop. Mmmmm, I never realized just how much I love the smell of new rubber tires. Actually I've always been fond of the smell of most automotive smells. If I wasn't working as an engineer, there are days that I would love to be an automechanic. Then there are days that I remember about my second car � nah, better off not doing that.

Ever notice how there all the guys working at comic stores all sound alike? It is kinda creepy when you think about it. Oh, they all are really cool (and freak friendly), but they have one of like four voices and one of twenty different appearances. I say this as something of an expert on comic book stores, as I've been to easily 50+ between Texas, California, and the few I visited in Norway.

I wonder if there are comic store worker clones out there? Hmmm �

Baseball

Of all the sports I enjoy the most, baseball is at the top of that list. Basketball just seems pointless to me. Soccer is fun to play when you can run, but boring to watch. Baseball is slow to watch, but fun to listen to. As a kid I'd listen until 2 AM when the Astros where in California (playing LA or San Francisco). It just brings back good memories.

So my office is having a softball game next week, but unfortunately I'm still not well enough to really run. It is a shame too, because in Jan. I was in fantastic shape. Hell, at the time I was probably faster than 90% of the guys in my office and speed is an underestimated skill in softball.

Anyway, tonight a bunch of folks from the office were going to the batting cages. No running, but I didn't want to twist and bat. Damn, this infection really ruined a large part of my life. But it gave me something to � I now realize how good I had it before. Yeah, looking back at my old diary entries kinda makes me ashamed about the things I would worry about. Sex, relationships? Oh, they can be nice, but they are vastly overrated compared to the ability to simply run.

If I could have one wish today it would be to not have that pain anymore and run again. I never realized how much energy I had and how important physically it was for me to release that energy. But that infection has given me hindsight, which will carry into my future. I can say it was easily the worst thing to ever happen to me, and yet it was also one of the best things.

So if I'm feeling mostly OK, tomorrow I'll join Redwood at Velocity. He needs me there to encourage him to flirt with the women. Maybe I can dance to two songs tomorrow night?

LISTENING TO: Decoded Feedback Technophoby

-=-

<< previous - next >>

Diaryrings:
<< Random List >> rivethead
<< Random List >> industrial
<< Random List >> Star Wars Fan
<< Random List >> Babylon 5
<< Random List >> sub-space
<< Random List >> gothic-ones

One Soul